Freda Warrington's Blog

Thoughts about writing

Lost

Aargh! How on earth do you manage to lose an entire short story? I’ve just finished the new one, so I decided to start putting all my vampire short stories together, with a view to producing a ‘Blood Wine’ anthology one day. Most were in the folder where I expected them to be, but there was one called ‘Little Goose’ that I wrote for David Howe’s ‘F20 2’ anthology in 2001. Could I find it? It wasn’t on my hard drive. It wasn’t on any back-up disk. I couldn’t find a hard copy – and I ALWAYS keep a print-out – and I couldn’t even find my copy of the anthology itself!!

Bizarre. It’s a good job I’m not superstitious or I would have suspected gremlins afoot. However, Dave H came to the rescue – I emailed him, and he was able to send me the text of my story. It was then I realised I couldn’t find the document on my PC because it was called ‘Pride’ and not ‘Little Goose’ at all. (The anthology was based on the seven deadly sins, and ‘Pride’ was my sin!) Anyway, thanks to Dave, I have the story again. I still have no idea where my printed copies are, but at least I have the text!

 The new story is for Ian Whates’ next anthology, ‘The Bitten Word.’ I’ve used one of the characters from The Dark Blood of Poppies, Sebastian, because he just seems to lend himself to short fiction. And actually, he appeared in ‘Little Goose’ too, which was why I wanted to re-read it. Having sent off the new story on Monday, and looked at the old one today, I find that Sebastian is more obsessed by crumbling, decaying houses than I realised! The new one’s called ‘The Fall of the House of Blackwater’… say no more.

Since I wrote last time, Harry Patch has now died too, only a few days after Henry Allingham. (There is another British veteran of the First World War still alive, Claude Choules, 108, who served in the navy and now lives in Australia). Harry Patch was the last veteran from the trenches. It’s awe-inspiring that these men lived so long, and unspeakably moving to think that they are or were the last living link with those times. After their experiences, both Harry Patch and Henry Allingham were vehemently anti-war. In honouring both men, the country acknowledges the sacrifices made by the thousands who died in the Great War…

So how is it that, in the same week, the government is battling in the courts to cut compensation to soldiers injured in the present conflict? Have they no shame? They aren’t fit to polish the boots of Harry Patch and his fellows.

August 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

